top of page
Search

Night Train, Best Customs Contest Entry

Introducing 'Night Train', my Best Customs Contest Entry.


I have been secretly working away on my BCC entry over the last 5 or 6 months, and I am SO proud to show him to the world now.


Night train started life as a Breyer Adios, I would love to say he was smooth sailing, but I would be lying. He got chopped up many, many times, so much so that I never thought I would finish him. He may not look that challenging as he is a standing horse much like the original, however, there is very little of the original horse inside of him. I dremeled down Adios into sticks which I used as an armature. Which was a huge learning curve as he was sculpted much the same as an original sculpt, I had nothing to guide me other than my own measurements and concept drawings. I learnt so much about him and myself during the sculpting process. If I'm honest with myself, I adore the process, the challenge and the fight. Sculpting is were my heart is, but painting is also a necessary part of the BCC competition.





Night Train is a Belarusian Horse, a portrait of possibly my most favourite real life stallion. The real horse is used to breed meat and farm work horses. These horses are not bred for aesthetics, but rather functionally. This allowed me to play around with features which I love, such as overgrown and uneven hooves. You could not say this guy is show ring ready, he is very much a Stallion who is somewhat feral.



He has been a real passion project, and I am thrilled to have finished him and have him in my collection. Having him in model form is a dream come true, and being able to enter the BCC contest is another. He is one horse I keep looking at and thinking, 'You didn't exist a few months ago, without me you wouldn't be here' and that is an INSANE feeling. I made this! Like, that is CRAZY to me. Does anyone else feel like this?

I am very proud of him and think he is a turning point in my sculpting career. Hopefully a piece I can look back on in 10 years and still be super proud of.

This is the first year UK residents have been allowed to enter the BCC, and I am thrilled they have opened it up to us and Canada. Thank you Breyer for enabling us to push ourselves and try our hand at the competition. Wishing everyone who has entered and is going to enter, the best of luck. I am loving seeing everyones entries.




4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page